reset erased everything

i did cli reset because i installed a new version of ubdatamigration to do a new migration from a different database and I did not know it was going to erase everything from the database?! What do I do?

7 answers

Profile photo of ubdev Staff 76600.00 $tone November 15, 2017
Public

Hi Zafooba,
It’s true that the Reset CLI command is to revert to the stage before you proceed migration. Hence, all your migrated data will be removed. 
We wonder if the different database you mentioned is a new Magento 1 database? If that’s the case, please note each of our license for UB Data Migration Pro grants you permisison to migrate from one single Magento 1 database only. Additional license will be needed for each new M1 db. 
Meanwhile, if you want to migrate from a new M1 database, you should start on a new M2 instance, as it helps you follow up delta migration phase later on. 
Hope that helps.
Regards,
Ubertheme team

#1
Profile photo of zafooba 800.00 $tone November 15, 2017
Public

please look at my question and my license, I purchased the new version, I have two licenses. Are you telling me a user can’t use two data migrations on 1 site with two licensees?

#2
Profile photo of ubdev Staff 76600.00 $tone November 15, 2017
Public

Hi Zafooba, 
Our previous reply just clarifies about the license for your information. 
Regarding your question: 

Are you telling me a user can’t use two data migrations on 1 site with two licensees?

This is more about the technical perspective. If you proceed 2 data migration in the same M2 instance, then you can not proceed delta migration for the first M1 db instance. Under your circumstance, as you already reset the first migration, you can re-migrate from your 2nd M1 db as normal.
Regards,
Ubertheme team
 

#3
Profile photo of zafooba 800.00 $tone November 15, 2017
Public

I have had to load a backup since the db of all our previous store orders / customers got reset because the database info is saved in a config file which erased it all when I was trying to get the new extension to install. You really should have a confirmation stating it will erase all the information in the database. I installed the new extension and pressed reset, I didnt upgrade, I removed and reinstalled. I didnt know info was saved in core files/db like that. This has made me think about just returning the new license and doing a different type of import / export from our other store.

#4
Profile photo of ubdev Staff 76600.00 $tone November 15, 2017
Public

Hi Zafooba,
Data migration associates with multiple complicated scenarios, then following a different workflow that is not mentioned in our userguide might lead to unexpected issue. As you might notice we suggest starting on a fresh Magento 2 instance in our Readme.html file (Section 1.2 Recommended workflow).
We tried to simplify the configuration step and avoid unexpected issue in the Step 1 -- Database setting, hence we choose the option to automatically detect M2 db while asking users to fill in M1 db info. In terms of Reset functionality, we use the similar pattern in the software industry where we use to roll back to the stage before migrating. A similar scenario we used to see about the Reset funciton in the hardware/software area is to Reset to manufacturer settings. This will remove all custom changes users might make.  
Anyway, we will review further to improve our migration tool further to avoid this misunderstanding.
Regards,
Ubertheme team 
 

#5

Please login or Register to Submit Answer

Written By

Comments